Boucher named AHL coach of the year

Hamilton Bulldogs coach Guy Boucher. Scott Gardner, The Hamilton Spectator

Hamilton Bulldogs head coach Guy Boucher, in his rookie year behind the bench in the American Hockey League, has been awarded the Louis A.R. Pieri Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding coach for the 2009-10 season.

The AHL’s release:

In his first season in the professional ranks, Boucher has guided the
Bulldogs to a North Division championship and the second-best record in
the entire AHL at 51-17-3-7 (112 points). Hamilton has set numerous
franchise records, including those for most wins and points, and the
Bulldogs sit first in the league in team defense (2.24 goals allowed
per game) and third in offense (3.38 goals scored per game). Boucher
has also seen 17 Bulldogs players skate with the parent Montreal
Canadiens with seven making their NHL debuts – including leading
scorers David Desharnais, Brock Trotter and 2010 AHL First Team All-Star and All-Rookie defenseman P.K. Subban.

A 38-year-old native of Notre-Dame-du-Lac, Que., Boucher is the
second-youngest head coach currently in the AHL. He joined the Montreal
organization on June 29, 2009, after spending the better part of the
previous 12 years in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, including
2006-09 as head coach of Drummondville. Boucher was an assistant coach
for the gold-medal-winning Canadian teams at the 2009 World Junior
Championships and the 2008 World U-18 Championships. A graduate of
McGill Univeristy, Boucher is the fourth head coach in AHL history to
win at least 50 games in his first full pro campaign.

The Louis A.R. Pieri Award, which was first presented in 1968, honors
the late Mr. Pieri, a long-time contributor to the AHL as the owner and
general manager of the Providence Reds and a 2009 inductee into the
American Hockey League Hall of Fame. Previous winners of the award
include Frank Mathers (1969), Fred Shero (1970), Al MacNeil (1972,
’77), John Muckler (1975), Jacques Demers (1983), Larry Pleau (1987),
Mike Milbury (1988), John Paddock (1988), Marc Crawford (1993), Barry
Trotz (1994), Robbie Ftorek (1995, ’96), Peter Laviolette (1999),
Claude Julien and Geoff Ward (2003), Claude Noel (2004), Randy
Cunneyworth (2005), Kevin Dineen (2006), Mike Haviland (2007), Scott
Gordon (2008) and Scott Arniel (2009).


  1. adam76 says:

    Tiger was just working on his short game.


    Never wrestle with a pig – you’ll both get dirty, and the pig will love it

  2. Psycho29 says:

    David Letterman says “Thank You Tiger”





    ‘Somebody please turn on the lights so the cockroach Maple Leaf fans will scatter’

  3. Bill J says:

    Why wouldnt the Habs buy him out ?  Curious to hear your reasoning on this … ?

    Due to the fact a Coaches salary does not go against the cap.  If the Molson’s want him out – JM is gone. end of story I would think.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.